Membership Number:
The Wanganui Golf Club are currently making plans to appoint a Jubilee Committee for the celebration of our 125th Jubilee in 2019. Any interested parties who would like to have some involvement in planning, please contact the office on 06 3490559
The Wanganui Golf Club was established in August 1894 in an area of the city called Balgownie. (Present site of the corner of Swiss Ave and Cambridge Street, Gonville). The course remained on the site until 1908 when the Belmont site was purchased, and the Taylor homestead which was located on the land was used as the first Clubhouse.
Between 1930 - 1950 many small alterations were made to the homestead clubhouse and in 1960 a new lounge was added. The old clubhouse remained the same for many years before being destroyed by a fire in 2001. Over the next two years a design was agreed upon and funding sought, and the new clubhouse was officially opened in October 2003.
Many valuable items were destroyed, including the majority of the club's historic photographs. After considerable time and effort by many present and past members, many photos have now been replaced and are on display throughout the Clubhouse.
Many of the club's trophies were also damaged in the fire, however with the assistance of the firemen who attended, the damaged trophies were saved. A restoration programme began in earnest and some two years later all have been brought back to their former glory and can be viewed in the display cabinet.
The Wanganui Golf Club is proud to have hosted many significant National and International tournaments throughout it's history:
NZ Open Championship in 1911, 1923, 1934, 1952, 1963, 1969, 1978
Mens Amateur Championship in 1911, 1923, 1929, 1934, 1951, 1963
Mens Interprovincial Tournament in 1975, 1994
Mens National Masters Tournament in 1999
Mens NZ Foursomes Championship in 1929, 1934, 1952, 1963
Mens North Island Championship in 1949, 1957, 1958, 1972, 2007
Womens Amateur Strokeplay championship in 1953, 1965, 1980, 1994
Womens Amateur Championship in 1922, 1933, 1953, 1980, 1994, 2004
Womens Under 21 Championship in 1988
Womens Interprovincial Tournament in 1953
Mixed international Vets Tournament in 2005